Home » China Maps » Ancient China Map » Sixteen Kingdoms Map

Sixteen Kingdoms Maps


Maps of the Sixteen Kingdoms

The Sixteen Kingdoms (or called Sixteen States) were set up by five ethnic minorities (including the Di, Jie, Qiang, Xianbei, and Xiongnu). Power struggles become increasingly severe in the latter phase of the Western Jin Dynasty, and this provided an opportunity for ethnic tribes to attack the northern areas of Jin. Five ethnic minorities eventually conquered the northern part of China and gradually founded 16 kingdoms which were Cheng Han, Former Zhao, Later Zha0, Former Yan, Later Yan, Northern Yan, Southern Yan, Former Liang, Later Liang, Northern Liang, Southern Liang, Western Liang, Former Qin, Later Qin, Western Qin, and Xia. The period of the Sixteen Kingdoms was from 304 AD to 439 AD. The northern territory of China was in chaos during this period. Continuous battles made it hard to develop in almost any field and populace suffered a lot.

The Sixteen Kingdoms Maps, showing color-dividing territories of the sixteen kingdoms in different periods, and major cities of each kingdom.

Sixteen Kingdoms Maps

Sixteen Kingdoms Map

You may also be interested in: